Bug 105999 - Template is Deleted Unintentionally and Unnoticed
Summary: Template is Deleted Unintentionally and Unnoticed
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: LibreOffice (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
5.3.0.3 release
Hardware: All Windows (All)
: medium normal
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords: dataLoss
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2017-02-14 11:57 UTC by Harald Koester
Modified: 2017-04-28 16:12 UTC (History)
2 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:
Regression By:


Attachments
Bug-105999-Test-01-Not-Confirmed (85.29 KB, image/png)
2017-02-26 22:08 UTC, Andrea Mussap
Details
Bug-105999-Test-02-Not-Confirmed (47.18 KB, image/png)
2017-02-26 22:09 UTC, Andrea Mussap
Details

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Harald Koester 2017-02-14 11:57:40 UTC
In order to reproduce:

[1] Open your file manager (e.g. Windows Explorer in Windows) and create a new folder for templates. Display the content of the new folder with your file manager in order to observe the behaviour.
[2] Start LibreOffice and add the new folder to the paths for templates: Tools > Options… > LibreOffice > Paths > Templates. Mark the new folder as Default Path.
[3] Create new text document and insert some text.
[4] Save document as template: File > Templates > Save as Template… The “Save as Template” dialogue is opened.
[5] Enter a template name (e. g.: Test1) and select a category. Then “Save”. File Manager: A file with the template name is saved to the template folder. (e. g.: Test1.ott)
[6] Close text document without saving.
[7] Create another new text document and insert some text.
[8] Save document as template: File > Templates > Save as Template… The “Save as Template” dialogue is opened.
[9] Enter the same name and select the same category as in step 5. Then “Save”. File Manager: The existing file is replaced by another file with a different name. E. g. Test1 is replaced by Test11.ott. The older template is deleted and no longer available. Expected: A message, that the template already exists together with the question if you like to replace the template.

On the contrary if you use the default template folder in your user profile, the expected message is displayed.
Comment 1 Andrea Mussap 2017-02-26 22:01:38 UTC
Testing issue.
Comment 2 Andrea Mussap 2017-02-26 22:08:39 UTC
Created attachment 131488 [details]
Bug-105999-Test-01-Not-Confirmed
Comment 3 Andrea Mussap 2017-02-26 22:09:39 UTC
Created attachment 131489 [details]
Bug-105999-Test-02-Not-Confirmed
Comment 4 Andrea Mussap 2017-02-26 22:19:25 UTC
Issue not confirmed in version 5.3.0.3. A confirmation message was diplayed either when I tried to overwrite the template in my new folder (that I set as Default) or in the LO default folder = "A template named <...> already exist in <..>. Do you want to overwrite it?" - see attachments.
Comment 5 Andrea Mussap 2017-02-27 06:56:51 UTC
Bug not confirmed.
Comment 6 Buovjaga 2017-03-04 17:02:43 UTC
Same result as Andrea.

Version: 5.3.0.3 (x64)
Build ID: 7074905676c47b82bbcfbea1aeefc84afe1c50e1
CPU Threads: 4; OS Version: Windows 6.19; UI Render: default; Layout Engine: new; 
Locale: fi-FI (fi_FI); Calc: group
Comment 7 Harald Koester 2017-04-28 16:12:43 UTC
I wasn't able to reproduce this bug again. Perhaps there has been a special condition in my previous trys. Hence works for me now.