Bug Hunting Session
Bug 67129 - When turning OFF Record Changes in Calc, LibrOffice loses all previously recorded changes
Summary: When turning OFF Record Changes in Calc, LibrOffice loses all previously reco...
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Calc (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
4.0.4.2 release
Hardware: Other All
: medium enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords: needsUXEval
Depends on:
Blocks: Track-Changes
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-07-21 06:42 UTC by Peter Lairo
Modified: 2019-06-10 17:16 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Peter Lairo 2013-07-21 06:42:02 UTC
When turning OFF Record Changes in Calc, LibrOffice loses all previously recorded changes!

Steps to reproduce:
- open a Calc Spreadsheet
- Turn on Record Changes
- Make some changes / edit the document
- Turn OFF Record Changes
- Dialog appears:   This action will exit the change recording mode. 
                    Any information about changes will be lost. 
                    Exit change recording mode?
- Click YES
- All previously recorded changes are lost.

Desired behavior:
The previously recorded changes should be remembered. Only changes made WHILE Record Changes is OFF should not be recorded.

Sometimes users will want to make edits that do not need to be recorded. e.g., Grammar corrections. But they still want the important change to be recorded. It should be possible to record changes, then turn off record changes for minor edits, and then turn record changes back on again - all without losing the changes made before.
Comment 1 m.a.riosv 2013-07-21 10:13:32 UTC
Hi Peter, thanks for reporting,

I hope you are agree, that more a request for enhancement than a bug.

Change the status to new and the importance to enhancement.
Comment 2 Peter Lairo 2013-07-21 12:28:46 UTC
Actually, I consider this a DATA LOSS bug. But that is for the developers to decide.
Comment 3 Thomas Lendo 2019-06-10 17:16:26 UTC
Adding needsUXEval. Heiko: Ist this a privacy issue if we save the records?

Other questions: Should there be a separate setting to delete old saved records? How could this be implemented?