Bug 70574 - Feature Request: Open files in "read mode" as default
Summary: Feature Request: Open files in "read mode" as default
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Writer (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
unspecified
Hardware: All All
: medium enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks: Read-Only
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-10-17 11:26 UTC by Felix Schmidt
Modified: 2019-07-03 19:15 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Felix Schmidt 2013-10-17 11:26:55 UTC
In our company, we often use the same file to work on from network shares. But more often than not (90% of all cases) I only want to read the Document, not to edit! But when I open a File, it is opened in "edit mode" and will be locked for others until I manually disable the "Edit File"-Button.

If I want to edit and it is locked, I have to call my colleague to disable editing, as he most likely only wanted to read what i wrote before, and forgot to disable "edit mode". This is annoying!

I could open the File with "-view" parameter, but then it is write protected, the "edit file button" is grey and I am not allowed to save the File anymore.
(So this is NO duplicate of Bug #62845)

So I think it would be an useful option, to open a document in "read mode" ("Edit File" unchecked) as default.

What I would like to have: 
- option to open documents in "read mode" as default
- after opening, I can click "Edit File" button to edit and save the file, if I want to
- don't show "File is locked by ..." dialog on startup, if it is opened in read mode (it will be shown when i enter edit mode anyway)

As Bonus I would like this behaviour on Network shares only, local files may be edited directly. But this is really optional.

This Feature would make the workflow of all users in collaborating teams much more comfortable. 
Also it would protect from accidental edits and overwrites, as I must confirm (by just one click), that I really want to edit this document.
Comment 1 tommy27 2013-11-22 06:44:51 UTC
as far as I know, no OOo/LibO/AOO version has this option.

change version field to "inherited from OOo" and status to "NEW"
Comment 2 Felix Schmidt 2013-11-22 13:39:44 UTC
I tried with AOO 4.0.1 today and there it works as expected using the "-view" command line parameter.
Comment 3 tommy27 2013-11-22 19:24:43 UTC
sorry I did not know that
I change version to "unspecified".
which LibO version you are experiencing this issue?