Download it now!
Bug 77070 - Files that are Opened Read-only, can't be Saved Directly after a Recovery
Summary: Files that are Opened Read-only, can't be Saved Directly after a Recovery
Status: RESOLVED NOTABUG
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: LibreOffice (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
4.2.2.1 release
Hardware: Other Windows (All)
: low enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard: BSA
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2014-04-04 20:58 UTC by Harald Koester
Modified: 2016-01-25 05:57 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Harald Koester 2014-04-04 20:58:57 UTC
Problem description: 

Steps to reproduce:
[1] Start LibreOffice and create a new text document.
[2] Enable option “Load/Save > General > Save > Save AutoRecovery information” and set time period to 1 minute.
[3] If enabled disable option “Load/Save > General > Save > Automatically save the document too”.  Due to bug 76950, you have to close and restart LibreOffice again if you change this option.
[4] Insert some text and save the document as a new file.
[5] Close file and reopen it again. This step is necessary due to bug 48606.
[6] Activate file property “Security > Open file read-only”.
[7] Save the document.
[8] Close and reopen document again. File is opened in read-only mode.
[9] Change to edit mode.
[10] Insert some more text and wait until the AutoRecovery information is saved. On my system there is a short flickering of the LibreOffice window.
[11] Force LibreOffice to close with the Task Manager, in order to simulate a LO crash. Ignore the “Save document?” dialogue and wait until the Windows dialogue is opened. Click the button to end LibreOffice in the Windows dialogue.
[12] Restart LibreOffice. The recovery dialogue is opened.
[13] Click “Start Recovery >”. The file will be recovered. Click “Finish” in order to view the recovered document. The document is displayed in read-only mode.
[14] Try to save the recovered document by:
(a) The cross “Close Document” in the upper right corner: Save dialogue is opened. Click “Save”. Dialogue is closed. The document is still displayed and the file is not saved: Expected: Document should be saved and closed.
(b) The red cross in the upper right corner in order to save the file and close LibreOffice. Click “Save”. Dialogue is closed. LibreOffice is still active, the document is still displayed and the file is not saved: Expected: Document should be saved and closed, LibreOffice should be closed.
(c) The menu with “Save”: “Save” is greyed and hence not possible. 
(d) The menu with “Save as...”. The “Save as” dialogue is opened. Don't change the file name and click “Save”. A dialogue is opened and you are asked to replace an existing file. Click “Yes”. An error message is displayed, that a read-only document can't be saved.

After some trying I found 2 possibilities to save a recovered read-only document: Change to “Edit mode” or save the document under a different file name. But anyway I think in a recovery situation there should always be an immediate and easy way to save a recovered document. 

Another solution for this problem may be to open the recovered document in “Edit mode”. Then the editing state would be identical before the crash happens besides the changes after the last saving of the recovery information. 
Operating System: Windows 7
Version: 4.2.2.1 release
Comment 1 raal 2015-03-22 12:50:54 UTC
Hello Harald,
in LO 4.4 is new Edit/Read-only mode dialog, see https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/ReleaseNotes/4.4#Edit_.2F_Read-only_mode .
Is it solution for your bug?
Comment 2 Robinson Tryon (qubit) 2015-03-29 16:22:55 UTC
(In reply to raal from comment #1)
> Hello Harald,
> in LO 4.4 is new Edit/Read-only mode dialog, see
> https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/ReleaseNotes/4.4#Edit_.2F_Read-only_mode
> .
> Is it solution for your bug?

Status -> NEEDINFO
Comment 3 Harald Koester 2015-06-18 10:09:38 UTC
I checked this bug again with 4.4.3 (Win7). It still exists! 

The change in LO 4.4 is only a change of the GUI, but not a functional change.

To my opinion this bug is not only an enhancement. In a situation after a crash and the following recovery a user allways should be able to save his document immediately and an in easy way in order to avoid a loss of data. This is not the case if the documents property is set to "Open read-only". Hence status set back to UNCONFIRMED.
Comment 4 tommy27 2015-09-19 05:59:33 UTC
what about 5.0.1.2?
Comment 5 Harald Koester 2015-09-30 14:22:13 UTC
Checked again with 5.0.2.2 (Win 7). Bug still exists.
Comment 6 Jean-Baptiste Faure 2016-01-25 05:57:12 UTC
There is no bug here because the only mean to save a file opened in read-only mode is to switch in edit mode or to save under another name. So if you configure LO to always open files in read-only mode, it does what you are asking him, even when it recovers a document after a crash.

Closing as NotABug.
Feel free to reopen if you disagree. In such a case, please argue.

Best regards. JBF