Bug 78302 - EDITING: add safety question when all comments or all comments of a certain person shall be deleted
Summary: EDITING: add safety question when all comments or all comments of a certain p...
Status: RESOLVED NOTABUG
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Writer (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
4.1.5.3 release
Hardware: Other All
: medium enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard: BSA
Keywords: needsUXEval
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2014-05-05 13:49 UTC by bugquestcontri
Modified: 2018-12-07 06:59 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description bugquestcontri 2014-05-05 13:49:24 UTC
Problem description: 
The switching areas of "Delete comment" and "Delete all comments" and "Delete all comments by xyz" are located very closely to each other. Therefore it can easily happen that not the current comment is deleted but many or all. CTRL-Z brings them back but if a user is a little bit unconcentrated.all can be gone.

Therefore for "Delete all comments by ...." and "Delete all comments" a safety question "Are you sure you wan to delete...." should  be added.

Operating System: All
Version: 4.1.5.3 release
Comment 1 tommy27 2014-05-05 14:37:17 UTC
enhancement request. status -> NEW
Comment 2 Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2016-11-17 15:56:33 UTC
(In reply to bugquestcontri from comment #0)
> CTRL-Z brings them back but if a user is a little bit
> unconcentrated.all can be gone.

I don't see the need for a safety question when one can undo the change.
Comment 3 Heiko Tietze 2016-11-18 09:45:25 UTC
(In reply to Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) from comment #2)
> I don't see the need for a safety question when one can undo the change.

Undo is good to immediately revert changes. But what when you not be aware of a mistake? 

I think it's a good idea, the confirmation shouldn't bother too much. Ideally we introduce some "Don't show again" option for confirmation dialogs (with the chance to enable again in tools > options) and let the user decide about safety.
Comment 4 Timur 2017-04-13 13:06:50 UTC
(In reply to Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) from comment #2)
> I don't see the need for a safety question when one can undo the change.
I agree.
Comment 5 Heiko Tietze 2017-04-20 12:39:05 UTC
Talked about the issue in the design meeting 2017/Apr/20. From the minutes:

+ Do we want to introduce a guideline to confirm actions that affect not only the current selection?
+ Yes means to let the user confirm 'delete all comments', for example, No means to keep the current behavior
+ better decide about confirmation on the particular situations
+ undo is sufficient in this particular (and most other) topic (Jay)
+ as a general rule, have a confirmation when undo is not possible

Closing the ticket as NOTABUG.
Comment 6 martin garix 2018-12-07 06:59:05 UTC Comment hidden (spam)