Bug 106571 - Remove context menu for default Gradients/Bitmaps/Patterns/Hatches or add restore tool
Summary: Remove context menu for default Gradients/Bitmaps/Patterns/Hatches or add res...
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: UI (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
5.3.0.3 release
Hardware: All All
: medium normal
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks: Context-Menu Area-Fill-Tab
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2017-03-16 13:05 UTC by Thomas Lendo
Modified: 2020-03-06 00:42 UTC (History)
4 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Thomas Lendo 2017-03-16 13:05:32 UTC
Regarding the new area fill options:
A unique characteristic of the colors tab is that only custom colors can be renamed and deleted. But it's possible to rename and delete ALL default and custom Gradients/Bitmaps/Patterns/Hatches.

2 possible suggestions:

1. suggestion: No changes allowed

At default Gradients/Bitmaps/Patterns/Hatches, no context menu should be shown to the user so that they can't be renamed or deleted. Also the modify button should be grayed out (deactivated).

2. suggestion: Restore to default

If bug 106570 is fixed and if then it's possible to rename/modify/delete default entries forever: From a user's perspective, a tool is needed to restore the default set of Gradients/Bitmaps/Patterns/Hatches per tab (not for all tabs at once).

But all custom entries shouldn't be changed or deleted with that tool. The custom entries should still be stored after the default entries as it behaves now.
Comment 1 Thomas Lendo 2017-03-21 22:49:21 UTC
Change bug title and add meta bug (hope it's the right one).
Comment 2 Heiko Tietze 2017-03-26 12:43:41 UTC
Option 1: I could life with that.
Option 2: Sounds like an overkill. If we restore factory settings that should be done rather in the safe mode dialog but not at the various places where users in most cases intentionally tweak the configuration.

Option 3: Color is an exception and we keep all as it is.
Option 4a: Color names can be changed for predefined palettes.
Option 4b: Color names and values can be changed for predefined palettes.
Comment 3 Thomas Lendo 2017-03-26 14:19:25 UTC
For all options except 1: From my point of view as a user, how can I undo a change in default Gradients/Bitmaps/Patterns/Hatches? Maybe a change was a mistake, what can I do? The safe mode (a possible solution) would never come into my mind for that.

For option 1 (my preferred option): Was there an intention why it is possible to delete or change the default sets?
Comment 4 Heiko Tietze 2017-03-27 07:03:13 UTC
(In reply to Thomas Lendo from comment #3)
> For option 1 (my preferred option): Was there an intention why it is
> possible to delete or change the default sets?

Don't recall an intentional decision. The mockups contain a big add and a small trash button, rename was not taken into consideration at this time. Reason was that users should be able to create own presets and manipulate what we ship by default. The typical workflow for Benjamin is that he just selects what is in the left list.

The question is not only restricted to this feature but also to what comes next (having bullets and numbering in mind). Do we want to add a function to restore factory settings? And what does that mean: a) full restore, where modifications to factory presets are completely undone and also user defined presets deleted, b) "half" restore which affects factory presets only, and c) "specific" restore what is selected. I would understand "factory reset" as a) but the function should be c). In any case it has to be clear for the user. And feasible to implement without too much effort.
Comment 5 Heiko Tietze 2018-06-08 08:30:39 UTC
Issue is a bit worse as renamed title is not stored. But saving a document takes the current name. So we should disable renaming of inbuilt artwork.

Maybe an easyhack
Comment 6 andreas_k 2020-03-04 20:49:16 UTC
I don't see the point if an user want to delete an default (system installed) preset.

If you want to delete an preset there is an additional dialog which ask if you really want to delete the preset. So from my point of view it's not possible that an user will delete something by mistake cause there is this additional dialog.
Comment 7 Thomas Lendo 2020-03-06 00:42:31 UTC
(In reply to andreas_k from comment #6)
> I don't see the point if an user want to delete an default (system
> installed) preset.
> 
> If you want to delete an preset there is an additional dialog which ask if
> you really want to delete the preset. So from my point of view it's not
> possible that an user will delete something by mistake cause there is this
> additional dialog.
Question dialogs never make something really safe. I don't know anybody (including me) who hasn't ever not read the dialog warning text or accidentally clicked at OK in such dialogs. :)

My point is that if you give the user the power to modify single factory settings, the user should be able to restore this stage without discarding the whole user profile at once. This is good usability for me.