Bug Hunting Session
Bug 115336 - Label action buttons for "save (embedded) image dialog"
Summary: Label action buttons for "save (embedded) image dialog"
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: UI (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
unspecified
Hardware: All All
: medium enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks: Images
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2018-01-31 16:19 UTC by Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB)
Modified: 2019-03-20 19:15 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments
Confirmation box showing up before the save dialog after the image has been modified (9.14 KB, image/png)
2019-03-12 10:46 UTC, Heiko Tietze
Details

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2018-01-31 16:19:40 UTC
The dialog has just Yes/No buttons, instead it could have something like:

The selected image has been modified. Which version do you want to save?
[ Original ] [ Modified ] [ Cancel ]
Comment 1 Heiko Tietze 2018-02-18 08:46:53 UTC
Could you please be more specific what dialog you have in mind?
Comment 2 Heiko Tietze 2018-07-07 07:48:54 UTC Comment hidden (no-value)
Comment 3 QA Administrators 2019-01-11 15:22:58 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 4 Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2019-03-12 10:13:24 UTC
(In reply to Heiko Tietze from comment #1)
> Could you please be more specific what dialog you have in mind?

Insert any image into Writer, change something (e.g. make it grayscale). Then open image context menu, "Save...".
Comment 5 Heiko Tietze 2019-03-12 10:16:04 UTC
Sounds like an overkill to me but up for discussion.
Comment 6 Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2019-03-12 10:21:33 UTC
(In reply to Heiko Tietze from comment #5)
> Sounds like an overkill to me but up for discussion.

What exactly is overkill? Asking the user which version he wants to save or my dialog change proposal?
Comment 7 Heiko Tietze 2019-03-12 10:30:56 UTC
(In reply to Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) from comment #6)
> What exactly is overkill?

Using Writer to modify images is out of scope. Admittedly you may receive a file with content not on your local file system. But then, saving the image is possible and the offer to save different stages is too much, in my opinion. The additional button is the swiss-army-knife we should try to avoid.

But a good question for the design meeting.
Comment 8 Heiko Tietze 2019-03-12 10:46:48 UTC
Created attachment 149909 [details]
Confirmation box showing up before the save dialog after the image has been modified

For clarification, there is a confirmation box that shows up when the image has been modified. I vote for removing the feature and always save the current state. The original can be saved by undoing changes; and those are not stored when the document is saved/reopened.
Comment 9 Heiko Tietze 2019-03-12 11:02:00 UTC
Tomaz, you added the dialog in patch I1af45e2ed5d3b66dbd80a5f3a71c44530e46baef (26-Mar-2013). Any objection to streamlining the workflow as suggested?
Comment 10 Thomas Lendo 2019-03-13 21:46:05 UTC
I support Samuels suggestion as the current state is not optimal for normal users. The current yes/no question is not user friendly.
Comment 11 Cor Nouws 2019-03-14 17:24:54 UTC
(In reply to Thomas Lendo from comment #10)
> I support Samuels suggestion as the current state is not optimal for normal
> users. The current yes/no question is not user friendly.
Sounds as making existing functionality better understandable. So I support it without hesitation too :)
Comment 12 Thomas Lendo 2019-03-20 02:38:54 UTC
Heiko, please change/adjust your opinion in this case. A yes/no question is always bad because the user has to read carefully the complete question to decide. We know that this is not the reality of user reaction and users don't read carefully or don't understand. I also had to read this message twice as I "stumbled" over it at the first time.

Removing the feature and referring to the change history is not useful. What's when the user wants to save the original picture after changing it and saving the file?
Comment 13 Heiko Tietze 2019-03-20 19:15:42 UTC
Ideally we get rid of the interrupting dialog, see c8/c9 (depends on Tomaz reply). If that's not possible, the suggestion with  [ Original ] [ Modified ] [ Cancel ] was popularly accepted.