Bug 118309 - Writer's Word Completion list isn't kept between sessions - words are forgotten after quitting LibreOffice
Summary: Writer's Word Completion list isn't kept between sessions - words are forgott...
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Writer (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
Inherited From OOo
Hardware: All All
: medium enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks: AutoCorrect-Complete
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2018-06-21 16:32 UTC by Sophie Freud
Modified: 2019-05-24 16:53 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Sophie Freud 2018-06-21 16:32:01 UTC
Description:
With AutoCorrect and Word Completion turned on, words which are present in a Writer document are added to the Word Completion list. If I write a new word, it gets added. If I leave the word there, save the document, quit Writer and then re-open it, all the words are still on the list and are proposed by Writer for completion when typing.

However, if I delete a word, save the document, quit Writer and then re-open it, the word disappears from the list and is no longer auto-completed. This effectively makes Word Completion usable only for words which are used within a session, or which are permanently present in the document.

Yes, I made sure to disable "When closing a document, remove the words collected from it from the list". I also made sure that AutoCorrect is turned on ("While typing"), Word Completion is enabled, "Show as tip" is enabled, "Collect words" is enabled, "Min. word length" is 5 and "Max. entries" is the maximum possible (65,535).

I suspected that I may have screwed up something with setting "Max. entries" to its maximum, so I tried it with a bit lower value (65,000), and the behavior is the same.

The behavior is also the same in Safe Mode, but that may not be meaningful as Safe mode doesn't preserve userProfile data by design.

Steps to Reproduce:
(see above)

Actual Results:
(see above)

Expected Results:
(see above)


Reproducible: Always


User Profile Reset: No


OpenGL enabled: Yes

Additional Info:
Comment 1 Dieter Praas 2018-06-24 19:53:34 UTC
Sophie, I'm no expert in this issue, but what is the difference to bug 86872? Or can it be closed as a duplicate of that bug?
Comment 2 Commit Notification 2018-06-26 20:44:28 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 3 Commit Notification 2018-06-26 23:23:36 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 4 Sophie Freud 2018-07-13 16:25:31 UTC
(In reply to Dieter Praas from comment #1)
> Sophie, I'm no expert in this issue, but what is the difference to bug
> 86872? Or can it be closed as a duplicate of that bug?

@Dieter Praas, I believe bug 86872 wants an option which enables them to save/export different word completion lists. E.g. in case of transferring settings from one computer or installation to another. What I describe is Writer automatically saving every word to the word completion list and preserving that list even after the document is closed.

The two can indeed overlap in the result and in the implementation. Feel free to close either if you believe it's completely a subset of the other. E.g. if it's made clear that the list is saved automatically and frequently (with each (auto)save or preferably with each added word), and is re-used by the document even after restarting the application, then bug 86872 is a superset of this.
Comment 5 Xisco Faulí 2018-07-16 15:28:00 UTC
You can't confirm your own bugs. Moving it back to UNCONFIRMED until someone
else confirms it.
Comment 6 Cor Nouws 2018-08-29 17:49:46 UTC
I has never been designed to remember the list after closing LibreOffice.
So it is an enhancement request.

If you start LibreOffice anew, and open an existing document, words from that document are picked up _again_. They are not stored somewhere in the user profile,
Comment 7 Sophie Freud 2018-08-29 18:09:08 UTC
(In reply to Cor Nouws from comment #6)
> I has never been designed to remember the list after closing LibreOffice.
> So it is an enhancement request.
> 
> If you start LibreOffice anew, and open an existing document, words from
> that document are picked up _again_. They are not stored somewhere in the
> user profile,

Yes, it has been designed to do that. The settings have a "When closing a document, remove the words collected from it from the list" checkbox, which directly implies that this is a feature intended to work in LibreOffice which you can activate my unchecking the box.

I did just that, but it still removes the words.
Comment 8 Cor Nouws 2019-05-24 09:24:32 UTC
(In reply to Sophie Freud from comment #7)

> Yes, it has been designed to do that. The settings have a "When closing a
> document, remove the words collected from it from the list" checkbox, which
> directly implies that this is a feature intended to work in LibreOffice
> which you can activate my unchecking the box.
I think that the UI it too small to give a full description of the situation.

Please read the Help:
"To Select the Scope of Collected Words

Disable the option When closing a document, remove the words collected from it from the list.

Now the list is also valid for other documents that you open. When you close the last LibreOfficeDev document, the word list is deleted.

If you enable the checkbox, the list is only valid as long as the current document is open.

If you want the word list to exist longer than the current LibreOfficeDev session, save it as a document, as described in the following section."
Comment 9 Sophie Freud 2019-05-24 16:53:23 UTC
(In reply to Cor Nouws from comment #8)
> Please read the Help:
> "To Select the Scope of Collected Words
> 
> (...)
> 
> If you enable the checkbox, the list is only valid as long as the current
> document is open.
> 
> If you want the word list to exist longer than the current LibreOfficeDev
> session, save it as a document, as described in the following section."

Okay, I see.

Then I'd like to modify my initial proposition and argue for two things:

1. The text on the UI is misleading. At minimum this should be added: "...(turning it off won't preserve the lost across sessions)"

2. This is not the logical/optimal way of using Word Completion and the sane way is to at least offer the option of preserving the word list across sessions. I'd go as far as to say whoever created Word Completion was aware that this is a shortcoming and the UI and the Help was tailored to make this behavior seem like a feature. If you built a word list with a lot of effort to speed up your typing, there's no reason why you *wouldn't* want to tap into that database at least in some cases. Having to open an additional special document every time you want to edit a Writer file is a VERY roundabout and frustrating way of achieving this. You may recall how the keyboard app on smart phones can collect and offer words regardless of the context or other open applications. Writer's Word Completion should be able to work similarly.