Bug Hunting Session
Bug 51367 - Irritating Installation file name change
Summary: Irritating Installation file name change
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: UI (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
3.5.4 release
Hardware: Other Windows (All)
: medium normal
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard: BSA
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2012-06-23 14:28 UTC by Mike §chinagl
Modified: 2013-06-22 15:07 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Mike §chinagl 2012-06-23 14:28:47 UTC
Problem description: 
During Installation of 3.5.4 German on Win7 the user is asked if he is ready for installation of files not identical to the ones downloaded.


Steps to reproduce:

1.Download the German x86 Windows two necessary files at http://download.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/stable/3.5.4/win/x86/LibO_3.5.4_Win_x86_install_multi.msi and http://download.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/stable/3.5.4/win/x86/LibO_3.5.4_Win_x86_helppack_de.msi
 
2. During installation of the first file (the main programme file) LibO_3.5.4_Win_x86_install_multi.msi asks if the user wants to install the "downloaded file" 298bdb.msi  
It happens after the programme has checked the necessary size on the hard drive. 

3. During installation of the second file (the language help file) LibO_3.5.4_Win_x86_helppack_de.msi the programme asks if the user wants to install the "downloaded file" 29a890.msi  


Current behavior:
The programme opens a new window during step 2 and 3. Usually I am able to take screen shots during installation but with these windows open I unfortunately was unable to do so. The text in the new window seems to indicate that a file different from the installation files has been downloaded by the installation procedure (which most probably was not the case as it would have taken a while). 
The user installing the programm might be irritated by this window opening and stop installation as the files he downloaded had a different name (see step 1) than the one he is now asked to confirm fir installation. 
I assume the downloaded files were unpacked and renamed in one step.  

Expected behavior:
The programme should install only files the user has downloaded and not rename them during installation. Or the programme should explain what happens.

Platform (if different from the browser): 
Windows 7

Sorry for not beeing able to explain better or deliver a sreen-shot. I installed on a computer of a third person.
Comment 1 Florian Reisinger 2013-06-22 15:07:13 UTC
Hi, can not reproduce this with Win7 x64 and 4.0.4.2.
Could you please check the behavior with a newer version of LibreOffice.
Please change the status to UNCONFIRMED, if yuo have additional information...