Bug 64439 - Add "Backup & Reset Profile" Button to Advanced Options
Summary: Add "Backup & Reset Profile" Button to Advanced Options
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: LibreOffice (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
Inherited From OOo
Hardware: All All
: high enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords: needsDevEval, topicUI
: 79299 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks: User-Profile Safe-Mode
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-05-10 18:04 UTC by Joel Madero
Modified: 2018-10-17 19:56 UTC (History)
11 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Joel Madero 2013-05-10 18:04:15 UTC
Hi All,

Robinson and I were discussing this and thought it would be a great additional feature. Rationale is that we routinely ask users to reset their profiles and then direct them to the wiki page. While the wiki is pretty thorough, for a non tech user the reset profile can be quite intimidating, plus the opportunity for not backing up is quite high which can be a problem for a user who wants to return to their previous profile.

So IMO a button (or two) that is either:
1. "Backup & Reset Profile"
2. "Backup" and "Reset" separate

would be awesome and save us the trouble of having to point to the wiki -- which again is done all the time for QA work as well as on Ask site.

Think this would be quite easy so putting proposedeasyhack
Comment 1 Cor Nouws 2013-05-18 07:16:19 UTC
pls don't shoot me that I mark this one as duplicate ;)
Maybe the other bug must be subject to some thorough UX work so that a clear plan is the result

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 52387 ***
Comment 2 Joel Madero 2014-05-28 05:13:44 UTC
lol I disagree that this is a duplicate - resetting profile not including in original. Removing the dupe and putting in see also :)
Comment 3 Joel Madero 2014-05-28 05:14:21 UTC
*** Bug 79299 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 4 Joel Madero 2015-02-20 15:02:48 UTC
hey Adolfo - Just a heads up that there's no need to change version for enhancement requests. Basically every single enhancement is technically "inherited from OOo" but this doesn't provide us with any additional info like a bug does.
Comment 5 raal 2015-03-26 10:18:37 UTC
Really needed, similar feature in Firefox
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/troubleshoot-firefox-issues-using-safe-mode
Comment 6 Yousuf Philips (jay) (retired) 2015-05-21 19:46:07 UTC
I would suggest that there be three separate buttons

1. Backup - It would zip the current profile
2. Restore - It would restore a profile from an existing zip
3. Reset - It would clear the current profile

Buttons 2 and 3 would require a restart after completion.
Comment 7 m.a.riosv 2015-10-25 23:18:01 UTC
*** Bug 95310 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 8 Robinson Tryon (qubit) 2015-12-13 11:24:27 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 9 V Stuart Foote 2016-02-05 19:11:54 UTC
added a see also for bug 95310 -- Disable profile 'one time' menu item

idea there is to launch, but bypass settings of the user profile (and I guess write to a temp location so as not to clobber the existing).
Comment 10 Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2016-12-07 13:26:17 UTC
This is fixed with the safe mode introduced in 5.3: https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/ReleaseNotes/5.3#Safe_Mode
Comment 11 Yousuf Philips (jay) (retired) 2016-12-08 16:24:26 UTC
(In reply to Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) from comment #10)
> This is fixed with the safe mode introduced in 5.3:
> https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/ReleaseNotes/5.3#Safe_Mode

Safe mode does not solve this bug report.
Comment 12 Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2016-12-09 08:26:02 UTC
(In reply to Yousuf Philips (jay) from comment #11)
> (In reply to Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) from comment #10)
> > This is fixed with the safe mode introduced in 5.3:
> > https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/ReleaseNotes/5.3#Safe_Mode
> 
> Safe mode does not solve this bug report.

What exactly is not covered by safe mode?
Comment 13 MM 2016-12-09 11:49:33 UTC
I think what's not covered by safe mode, is using the *original* config file (saved to temp/tmp). Now you can disable some settings that might be enabled in the config file by default.
Comment 14 Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2016-12-09 12:06:14 UTC
(In reply to MM from comment #13)
> I think what's not covered by safe mode, is using the *original* config file
> (saved to temp/tmp). Now you can disable some settings that might be enabled
> in the config file by default.

Sorry I don't get what you mean. Which config file?
Comment 15 MM 2016-12-09 12:10:04 UTC
Eh, meant config files. The ones that are in /libreoffice/4/user/
Comment 16 Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2016-12-09 12:14:03 UTC
Ok, but I still don't get what's missing. The safe mode uses a temporary profile, your original profile is again being used when you exit safe mode.

When in safe mode, you can restore backups, or reset the profile (parts of it or everything).

So what is missing?
Comment 17 MM 2016-12-09 12:29:21 UTC
(In reply to Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) from comment #16)
> Ok, but I still don't get what's missing. The safe mode uses a temporary
> profile, your original profile is again being used when you exit safe mode.

That's the idea. Well, from looking at the options, I didn't get *that* part. For -me- it says that the original files are used and some options could be turned off. Or that you can restore a backup, but not that you can use a temp file only.

> 
> When in safe mode, you can restore backups, or reset the profile (parts of
> it or everything).
> 
> So what is missing?

An option just the continue using a temp config.
Comment 18 Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) 2016-12-09 13:15:51 UTC
(In reply to MM from comment #17)
> > 
> > When in safe mode, you can restore backups, or reset the profile (parts of
> > it or everything).
> > 
> > So what is missing?
> 
> An option just the continue using a temp config.

Click the "Continue in safe mode" button.
Comment 19 Yousuf Philips (jay) (retired) 2016-12-09 16:44:24 UTC
(In reply to Samuel Mehrbrodt (CIB) from comment #12)
> What exactly is not covered by safe mode?

Users arent able to backup their profile and then restore it into a different installation. See my comment 6 for more info.