Download it now!
Bug 76967 - Bibliography database should not be overwritten by install procedure
Summary: Bibliography database should not be overwritten by install procedure
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Installation (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
4.2.2.1 release
Hardware: x86-64 (AMD64) All
: medium critical
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords: dataLoss
: 101021 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks: Bibliography
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2014-04-02 21:26 UTC by Ulrich Moser
Modified: 2020-03-10 17:39 UTC (History)
9 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Ulrich Moser 2014-04-02 21:26:14 UTC
I am currently writing a book and I already had some bibliography entries. Through update to the next release the bibliography database was overwritten with the default content from the package the result being that I had to re-enter all of my biblio entries. The bibliography should be treated the same as LO documents and user defined templates means it should never be touched by install when already existing.
Comment 1 sophie 2014-04-07 16:42:24 UTC
Hi, what was the previous version of LibreOffice and what is your linux distro? Thanks - Sophie
Comment 2 Ulrich Moser 2014-04-07 20:06:10 UTC
I am not quite sure when I first lost my bibliography DB. I  populated it in one of the 4.0 releases but did not work on the book since then, because lack of time. 

I run my LO on a Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit.

Seems that part of the ~/.config/libreoffice/4/user directory has been overwritten in one of the updates especially the bibliography.odb
Comment 3 Alex Thurgood 2014-07-14 11:54:49 UTC
My understanding was that the bibliography.dbf file was always included as part of the default installation and copied to the user configuration when LO was first started - does lang pack installation also copy over a default localized version to the user's config that interferes with the user's previous preference ?
Comment 4 Alex Thurgood 2015-01-03 17:38:18 UTC
Adding self to CC if not already on
Comment 5 tommy27 2015-01-23 04:52:06 UTC
@Ulrich Moser
has this happened again in recent LibO upgrades?
can you tell if the issue is still reproducible?

set status to NEEDINFO waiting for user feedback
Comment 6 Edmund Laugasson 2015-05-24 09:08:50 UTC
Using 64-bit Linux Mint Cinnamon 17.1 with 4.0.4-040004-generic kernel
LibreOffice version: 5.0.0.0.beta1
Build ID: 0a16c3dda4150008d9be6f24cbd15ac198d116d3
Locale: et-EE (et_EE.UTF-8)


Steps I used to test:
* install the mentioned build (sudo dpkg -i *.deb)
* open Bibliographic Database through Writer
* add some entries and save and close
* reinstall the mentioned build
* open Bibliographic Database through Writer
* previously entered entries are still there

I added only one entry actually into database and this was not disappeared after reinstalling.

But I would say that here are two more different steps to test:
* before installing, remove the LibreOffice installation - user profile with Bibliographic Database should remain intact
* before installing, remove the LibreOffice installation completely (purge) - user profile with Bibliographic Database should remain intact
* do these tests with stable releases and also with dev builds (beta, rc etc)

Therefore changing to UNCONFIRMED as it was tested only with beta1 build and not more.
Comment 7 Jean-Baptiste Faure 2015-08-01 20:23:45 UTC
Not reproducible for me with LO 5.0.1.0+ built at home under Ubuntu 15.04 x86-64 with GCC 5.1.
Bibliography database is part of the user profile and is not removed when LO is uninstalled.

Closing as WorksForMe. Please, feel free to reopen if you have a clear and reproducible scenario showing the problem.

Best regards. JBF
Comment 8 Alex Thurgood 2016-07-21 07:44:41 UTC
Re-opening because of bug 101021 (which is a duplicate of this bug report).
Comment 9 Alex Thurgood 2016-07-21 07:46:55 UTC
The problem is manifestly still present in some users configurations.
Comment 10 Alex Thurgood 2016-07-21 07:47:23 UTC
*** Bug 101021 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 11 Alex Thurgood 2016-07-21 07:51:35 UTC
So, re-reading this and the DUP report in bug 101021, it would appear that under some circumstances, yet to be determined, this bug hits users and destroys the bibliography.dbf.

At present, I can only see the upgrade from one version to the next as being the trigger, but it may also have something to do with whether or not the user configuration profile is correctly updated, or possibly whether lang-packs are installed.
Comment 12 Buovjaga 2016-10-21 16:49:10 UTC
Correcting status to NEW (as confirmed by dupe).
Comment 13 QA Administrators 2017-10-23 14:03:39 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 14 Jean-Baptiste Faure 2017-10-29 07:00:44 UTC
This bug report is about Linux and its duplicate about Windows, so set OS to All.

Best regards. JBF
Comment 15 QA Administrators 2018-10-30 03:56:37 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 16 paulystefan 2020-03-10 16:56:43 UTC
no test here with LO 6.x
Comment 17 Buovjaga 2020-03-10 17:02:10 UTC
(In reply to paulystefan from comment #16)
> no test here with LO 6.x

What do you mean?
Comment 18 Ulrich Moser 2020-03-10 17:39:36 UTC
I am currently running 6.2.8 on Ubuntu xenial and 6.3.5 on Ubuntu bionic. Had no such situation again. Moved the biblio DB to my Nextcloud now and can access it from each machine.