Created attachment 120908 [details]
dleteing column oer merged row deletes entire table
If you merge a row, you no longer can delete a column through that merged row. It deletes the entire table. I have included a sample.
I found an older report that seems to be the root cause.
*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 46733 ***