Bug 96660 - The "save file" button in the main toolbar has now a strange and incoherent behaviour
Summary: The "save file" button in the main toolbar has now a strange and incoherent b...
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 96590
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: UI (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
5.1.0.1 rc
Hardware: All Windows (All)
: medium normal
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2015-12-22 01:41 UTC by Andy
Modified: 2015-12-22 10:05 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Andy 2015-12-22 01:41:44 UTC
Until LO 5.0.4, the "save file" button in the main toolbar was very simple:
if the opened file was modified the button was active, and the user could press it to save the latest changes;
if instead the file had undergone no further modifications after the last save, the button was greyed out to show that there was no need to save again.
In previous relaeases of LO, the behaviour was conforming the all world standards observed for the same button:
- after having created a document and written some text in it, at first the button to save has the normal function ("save as..." if the document is new and never before published, "save" if the file has been given a name but has been modified since last saving, and greyed out if there is no change since last saving).
However now in 5.1.0.1 after the new file has been modified and saved for the first time, the same button behaves in a different and strongly unintuitive way: instead of turning gray, it stays active with the same icon but now with 2 new options: "save as".... and "save on a remote server".
This is annoying first because you do not have anymore any clear sign of the fact that your file is faithfully saved or not.
Notice that he small icon at the center of the status bar tells you if the document has been changed if you hover above it with the mouse (with a flyover text), but it does not give any easy indication since it icon does not change to distinguish when saving is due from when is was already done.
Comment 1 m.a.riosv 2015-12-22 03:10:37 UTC
Hi @Andy, hope you have luck.

I don't understand this new behaviour with a selection clicking on the button, neither the meaning of the arrow in the "Save" button, doing nothing different clicking on it than click on the button, when the file was already saved.

If we want simplify, we can have only one button:
 - If the file wasn't saved:
   - Button plus arrow for "Save as" or "Save remote"
 - If the file was saved:
   - Greyed button plus arrow for "Save as" or "Save remote"
 - Delete from the toolbar the "Save as" button.
Comment 2 Andy 2015-12-22 09:43:24 UTC
Yes, that would be sensible. As it is now, it kills the second main function of the "save" button besides saving the file, i.e. showing clearly if the file has been modified after the last save or not through it being greyed out.
Or alternatively, the small icon in the status bar should change to signal this fact, a thing that happens in 5.0.4, but no more I think in 5.1
Comment 3 Maxim Monastirsky 2015-12-22 10:05:42 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 96590 ***