Each filepicker has a "Preview" checkbox when you insert an image e.g.
When enabled, it shows a preview for the selected image.
I suggest to remove this checkbox and show the preview always when we have something to preview.
Sounds like a no-brainer -> NEW
*** Bug 96863 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***