Bug 137878 - Too many error dialogs when a file is not found for recovery
Summary: Too many error dialogs when a file is not found for recovery
Status: UNCONFIRMED
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: LibreOffice (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
7.0.2.2 release
Hardware: All All
: medium minor
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks: Document-Recovery
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2020-10-30 15:27 UTC by Eyal Rozenberg
Modified: 2021-03-31 14:46 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:
Regression By:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Eyal Rozenberg 2020-10-30 15:27:58 UTC
When LO is started after a crash, it offers to restore/recover files from before the crash.

In some cases (or maybe always?), when a file intended for recovery is not found, LO opens multiple dialogs saying as much.

At the very least, LO should keep it to a single notice of failure per file.

Also, one could argue that no extra dialog should be open other than the recovery dialog, where the failed recovery item gets an 'X', and some extra UI (e.g. hover-based comment, expandable widget with a label) could tell the user what the failure was.
Comment 1 Timur 2020-10-30 17:37:42 UTC

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 114508 ***
Comment 2 Eyal Rozenberg 2020-10-30 19:13:52 UTC
This is a different issue than 114508; it doesn't involve the user choosing to discard.
Comment 3 Telesto 2020-11-17 07:20:36 UTC
Any way to reproduce they described case and or some context when this happens
Comment 4 Eyal Rozenberg 2020-11-18 16:55:03 UTC
Reproduction instructions which may or may not work for you...

1. Open LO writer.
2. Type in some text.
3. Save the file as test-01.odt
4. Save the same file as test-02.odt
5. Use kill -KILL to kill the LO processes (don't exit normally)
6. Delete the two files you saved.
7. Start LO, wait for the recovery dialog to come up.
8. Wait 3 seconds
9. Press Start
10. A first message box appears, about the first file; wait 3 seconds
11. Switch back and forth between the recovery dialog and the message box
12. Dismiss the first message box
13. A second message box appears, about the second file; wait 3 seconds
14. Switch back and forth between the recovery dialog and the message box
15. Dismiss the second message box
16. A third message box appears. It says: "Object not accessible. The object cannot be accessed due to insufficient user rights".
17. The Start button on the recovery dialog changes to Finish and becomes active.
18. Click Finish.
19. LO comes up.
Comment 5 Eyal Rozenberg 2021-03-31 14:18:11 UTC
Un-closing and renaming to clarify this is not about what happens when you discard, but rather when you try to recover.