Download it now!
Bug 140327 - Please add an option for deletions to disappear in Track Changes mode rather than be replaced by a strikethrough
Summary: Please add an option for deletions to disappear in Track Changes mode rather ...
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: Writer (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
7.0.4.2 release
Hardware: All All
: medium enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2021-02-10 21:47 UTC by masseymail
Modified: 2021-05-02 16:21 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description masseymail 2021-02-10 21:47:03 UTC
Description:
In Track Changes mode, I would like an option for deletions to disappear rather than be marked by a strike-through. It's redundant and tedious to require the user to "accept" the deletion before it disappears. That should be optional, not mandatory. I find myself having to "accept" tiny insignificant changes constantly. It wastes huge amounts of time.

Steps to Reproduce:
1.Select text and hit 'delete.' 


Actual Results:
A strike-through appears (or whatever formatting change chosen in the preferences, which DO NOT offer the option of actually deleting the text).

Expected Results:
I would like the option for the deleted text to disappear, even in Track Changes mode.


Reproducible: Always


User Profile Reset: No



Additional Info:
The current default method is a massive waste of time that could be spent on productive work.
Comment 1 Timur 2021-02-11 11:20:12 UTC
You reported against previous LO, likely without previous search, which is also waste of time. 
You should test daily master, there were changes. 
Can this be a duplicate of Bug 34355 - Option to show track changes in margin?
Comment 2 Hagar Delest 2021-05-02 16:10:50 UTC
I took the liberty to change the status to new.

This is not exactly a duplicate. Even if there is a real improvement with the new option (see screenshot attachment 166614 [details] in post #179 of bug #34355), there is still the former string that remains visible in the margin (strikethrough).

Would it be possible not to display the deleted string at all?

The rationale is that when you release a new version of a document, the vertical lines in the margins are useful to spot the places where changes occurred. But you don't want anything more to be displayed. There is no point displaying the former text.
Comment 3 Hagar Delest 2021-05-02 16:21:15 UTC
Note: the title may have to be changed to something like "Track changes: display deletion mark in margin without deleted text".

Please confirm if it should be changed or the report closed and a new one created.