Bug 47988 - FILESAVE: Feature request : better visibility and access to automatical backups and enabled by default
Summary: FILESAVE: Feature request : better visibility and access to automatical backu...
Status: RESOLVED INSUFFICIENTDATA
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: LibreOffice (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
Inherited From OOo
Hardware: All All
: medium enhancement
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard: BSA
Keywords: dataLoss, easyHack
Depends on:
Blocks: AutoSave-AutoRecovery-Backup
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2012-03-28 02:08 UTC by Nicolas Michel
Modified: 2018-09-11 16:25 UTC (History)
6 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Nicolas Michel 2012-03-28 02:08:32 UTC
Problem description:

Currently, the automatic save with copy of documents is not enabled by default. The option will be enabled only by advanced user since normal end users only open libreoffice et start typing without even think that such a feature does exists.

But think about it : how many people do you personnaly know that lost their document after a crash or a bad manipulation? I do know some and most of the time it is critical documents.

But enable the feature is not sufficient : it would also be nice having the possibility to browser the content of automatic saved documents from libreoffice GUI.

Finally and probably the most important : currently the automatic save feature is only enabled for already saved document (once you clicked on file/save). But if you start typing without saving anything and the computer crash, there's no way to recover the document. I know users SHOULD always save their document before starting typing and I ALWAYS say it. But ususal end users don't think about that. They just want to start typing their document. Of course, there should be some rotation and keep only some pre-defined unnamed documents (say 10?) and that value can be changed in the libreoffice configuration.

Steps to reproduce:
1. ....
2. ....
3. ....

Current behavior:
* Automatic save copy is not enabled by default
* When enabled, need to grab the path of the automatic save copy from the libreoffice configuration menu and walking there with a file explorer (needing to modify display options (either on Linux than on Windows) to show hidden files to see the directory : really out of scope for a usual end user)
* Never enabled for unsaved documents

Expected behavior:
GENERAL PURPOSE : minimize the risk of loosing a document either caused by a computer crash (except hard disk failure) or a bad manipulation from the end user (eg : close an unsaved document by misunderstanding or by mistake)

Actions to achieve it:
* automatic save copy enabled by default (but be able to disabled it from the option menu for the ones who want it)
* default delay should not be 10 min but maximum 5 min (I always configure this to 1 min on my computers)
* also backup unsaved documents and keep a pre-defined number of them
* being able to walk through a "history" or something like a "time-machine" concept from the libreoffice GUI and see all automatic saved documents, sorted by date, and maybe see a thumbnail for each to easilly recognize unnamed documents?

Platform (if different from the browser):
ALL
              
Browser: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; .NET4.0C; .NET4.0E)
Comment 1 sasha.libreoffice 2012-06-22 01:30:24 UTC
Thanks for new idea
I fully agree with it. Changing status to New
Especially with enabling Backup by default.

Few small considerations:
After several months of backuping user profile becomes very big. Proposing add remainder that one time per months asks user about deleting old backups.

> default delay should not be 10 min but maximum 5 min (I always configure this
> to 1 min on my computers)
This is good when saving of document takes about one second. But big document save up to minute. In such situation saving should be taken more rare (with more long periods between saving).
Comment 2 allan 2017-12-14 11:40:59 UTC
I would like it veeery much too.

I had an issue with a crash in the past and lost a big time work, and yesterday a crash happened to my colleague and the same thing happened. 

I think that big files (Writer, Calc or anything) would have a big backup, but a suggestion for this problem would be: backups of 10min of the past hour, 20min of the past 2 hours, 30min of the past 3 hours, hourly for the past 4, 5 and 6 hours, and, when the application is closed, the backups older than a week will be deleted (this is because the availability proposed in the request, so the user could navigate the already saved backups before they are deleted); it the document is been edited for more than 7 hours, when the application is closed these backups older than 7 hours will be deleted too.

Of course: the backups that are the same (no change in the document) will not be generated.

i think it could be something like this on the config, where users could type the times of selected backup frequency

+----------------------------------+
| period | times (in minutes)      |
+--------+-------------------------+
|  10min | 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60  |
|  20min | 80, 100, 120            |
|  30min | 150, 180                |
|  60min | 240, 300, 360           |
+--------+-------------------------+

Or anything else, but at least enabled by default
Comment 3 Robert Großkopf 2017-12-14 14:42:36 UTC
Seems to be the wrong component. Automatical backups are used for nearly all documents of LO - except Base, because the changing of the database will be ignored by this function.

Have set the component to LibreOffice.
Comment 4 Heiko Tietze 2018-01-13 10:24:19 UTC
Isn't this request mixing Auto Recovery (available at Tools > Option > Load/Save > General and set to 10min by default => WFM) and Version... accessed via File that can be enabled only when the document has been saved?

The latter has a different purpose and is discussed in bug 88994 (including a mockup how it could be done), bug 88997 (requesting on by default; not possible today since versions are not stored as diff but all data)
Comment 5 Heiko Tietze 2018-09-11 16:25:17 UTC
Closing after inactivity. I believe the different aspects in this ticket are covered somewhere else.