Bug 70225 - Recovery: Confusing UI for deleted files
Summary: Recovery: Confusing UI for deleted files
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 57443
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: LibreOffice (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
4.1.2.3 release
Hardware: Other All
: medium normal
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard:
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks:
 
Reported: 2013-10-07 12:44 UTC by Daniel Stone
Modified: 2013-10-15 20:05 UTC (History)
0 users

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:
Regression By:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Daniel Stone 2013-10-07 12:44:17 UTC
I often open LibreOffice files directly from Evolution, which puts them in a temporary directory which is purged after reboot.  On an unclean shutdown, LibreOffice recovery will trigger.  I then walk through the following steps:
  * Recovery! Would you like to recover your files? [Start recovery →]
  * Warning dialog: /home/daniels/.cache/evolution/tmp/foo.xls does not exist. [OK]
  * Question dialog: Document file foo.xls is locked for editing by: Unknown user. Open document read-only or open a copy for editing. [Open Read-only] [Open Copy] [Cancel]

Both 'open' options obviously fail since the file has been obliterated.  Seems like recovery should detect this case and present a slightly less confusing UI.

I'm on Fedora 20, though this doesn't really seem distro-specific.
Comment 1 Jorendc 2013-10-15 20:05:55 UTC
Thanks for reporting!
Although this, it's already reported in Bug 57443. Luckily this should be fixed in 4.2.0 (based on my own test). See bug report.

Kind regards,
Joren

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of bug 57443 ***