Bug 77157 - Other: Dialogue Text is Wrong if Document is Switched to Read-only Mode
Summary: Other: Dialogue Text is Wrong if Document is Switched to Read-only Mode
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: LibreOffice (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
4.2.2.1 release
Hardware: All All
: medium trivial
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard: BSA
Keywords:
Depends on:
Blocks: Read-Only
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2014-04-07 20:18 UTC by Harald Koester
Modified: 2018-07-02 11:03 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Harald Koester 2014-04-07 20:18:07 UTC
Problem description: 

Steps to reproduce:
[1] Start LibreOffice and create a new text document.
[2] Insert some text and save file, but don't close.
[3] Insert some more text.
[4] Click Button “Edit File” in order to switch to read-only mode. A dialogue with the question “Save changes to … before closing?” is displayed. At this point the document will not be “closed”. So the question should be better: “Save changes … before changing over to read-only mode?” or similar. Also the caption of the middle button uses the word “Close”. Better would be “Change over without saving.”
              
Operating System: Windows 7
Version: 4.2.2.1 release
Comment 1 Jorendc 2014-04-07 20:56:39 UTC
Reproducible, tested using Linux Mint 16 x64 with LibreOffice Version: 4.3.0.0.alpha0+
Build ID: d06cc9b52d3023f7b5aacb50bd48b06b9ffefbd3

Ma
Comment 2 Jorendc 2014-04-07 20:57:10 UTC
marking as trivial medium.
Comment 3 Harald Koester 2014-04-08 08:58:25 UTC
See also bug 77159: There I made an enhancement proposal according this save dialogue when users like to change over to the read-only mode.
Comment 4 QA Administrators 2015-06-08 14:41:56 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 5 Harald Koester 2015-06-17 21:52:28 UTC
Bug still exists in version 4.4.3 with Win7.
Comment 6 QA Administrators 2016-09-20 10:00:59 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 7 Harald Koester 2016-09-30 09:35:45 UTC
Meanwhile the caption of the middle button has changed to "Don't Save". This would be correct if the question will be changed as proposed. 

Hence bug still exists in version 5.2.1 with Win7.
Comment 8 Harald Koester 2016-09-30 09:43:11 UTC
Also checked with version 3.3.0. There the question is: "The document ... has been modified. Do you want to save your changes?" This question is correct. Hence this bug is not inherited from OOo.
Comment 9 QA Administrators 2018-07-02 02:35:41 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 10 Harald Koester 2018-07-02 11:03:33 UTC
Bug still exists in version 6.0.5 (64 bit, Win 10).