Bug 58132 - : Button “Reset” in Option Dialogs does not Work as expected
Summary: : Button “Reset” in Option Dialogs does not Work as expected
Status: NEW
Alias: None
Product: LibreOffice
Classification: Unclassified
Component: LibreOffice (show other bugs)
Version:
(earliest affected)
Inherited From OOo
Hardware: All All
: medium minor
Assignee: Not Assigned
URL:
Whiteboard: BSA
Keywords:
: 61243 (view as bug list)
Depends on:
Blocks: Options-Dialog Button-Controls
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2012-12-11 11:30 UTC by Harald Koester
Modified: 2018-11-01 19:28 UTC (History)
3 users (show)

See Also:
Crash report or crash signature:


Attachments

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Harald Koester 2012-12-11 11:30:23 UTC
Problem description: 

To my opinion not all aspects mentioned in bug 39452 are resolved. The comment list of that bug is quite long. So I tried to disentangle this a bit with new bug reports. This is the first of them.

In all Option dialogs exists the button “Revert”. In Versions older than 3.5.x it was called “Back”. In bug report 39452 it has already been discussed, what the correct function of the button “Back” or “Revert” is. There are different possibilities:

(1) Getting Started Guide, Chapter 2 – Setting up LibreOffice, section “Choosing options for all of LibreOffice” says: "The Back button has the same effect on all pages of the Options dialog. It resets the options to the values that were in place when you opened LibreOffice." The German tool tip says the same like the Getting Started Guide.

(2) The English tool tip says “Resets modified values back to the LibreOffice default values.” I do not believe, that this is the original intention, hence for some options an additional “Default” button exists (e. g. option dialog “LibreOffice Writer > Basic Fonts (Western)”).

(3) Only changes of the current options dialog are reverted. This is what happens currently for the most options. May be this is intended, but nearly the same function can be performed by clicking the Cancel button. The difference is that with Cancel the dialog is closed, with Revert it is not closed.

(4) Other possibilities ….?

So, if there has been a coordinated original intention (what I'm not sure about), I tend to possibility (1). Then possibility (3) would be a bug. In order to reproduce this here the necessary steps:

[1] Start LO and open a new text document.
[2] Open option dialog: Tools > Options... > LibreOffice > General
[3] Change an option, e. g. check “Use LibreOffice Dialogs”. Then OK. The dialog closes.
[4] Open the same option dialog again.
[5] Click “Revert”. Displayed options don't change. Expected behaviour: Option values should reset to values, that were in place when LO has been opened. That means in this case: Reset of option “Use LibreOffice Dialogs”.

I checked this with some other options. The result is always the same, only changes of the current options dialog can be reverted. So it seemed, that the described behaviour is valid for all options.

At last a proposal for an improvement of the Revert button: It should be greyed if there is nothing to revert.
              
Operating System: Windows 7
Comment 1 Harald Koester 2012-12-11 14:06:51 UTC
See also bug 58133, bug 58134, bug 58135, bug 58136.
Comment 2 Jorendc 2013-01-27 19:38:44 UTC
(In reply to comment #0)
> So, if there has been a coordinated original intention (what I'm not sure
> about), I tend to possibility (1). Then possibility (3) would be a bug. In
> order to reproduce this here the necessary steps:
> 
> [1] Start LO and open a new text document.
> [2] Open option dialog: Tools > Options... > LibreOffice > General
> [3] Change an option, e. g. check “Use LibreOffice Dialogs”. Then OK. The
> dialog closes.
> [4] Open the same option dialog again.
> [5] Click “Revert”. Displayed options don't change. Expected behaviour:
> Option values should reset to values, that were in place when LO has been
> opened. That means in this case: Reset of option “Use LibreOffice Dialogs”.

I can reproduce this behavior using Linux Mint 14 x64 with LO 4.0.0.2 rc2
 
> At last a proposal for an improvement of the Revert button: It should be
> greyed if there is nothing to revert.

Agree to that.

Following [1] I mark this bug as 'minor medium' because this does not resolve in crash/data loss/etc but resolve in the fact you just can't use some features.

[1] https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/images/0/06/Prioritizing_Bugs_Flowchart.jpg
Comment 3 Jorendc 2013-05-21 19:14:39 UTC
*** Bug 61243 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 4 QA Administrators 2016-02-21 08:36:39 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 5 Harald Koester 2016-02-22 21:36:57 UTC
Checked with version 5.1.0, Win7.

Meanwhile the name of the button has changed again. It's now called "Reset". But the bug still exists.
Comment 6 QA Administrators 2017-03-06 15:34:55 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 7 Harald Koester 2017-03-16 18:09:25 UTC
Bug still exists in version 5.3.0. (Win7)
Bug alrady exists in version 3.3.0. Hence inherited from OOo.
Comment 8 QA Administrators 2018-03-17 03:33:10 UTC Comment hidden (obsolete)
Comment 9 Harald Koester 2018-03-19 22:13:41 UTC
Bug still exists in version 6.0.2 (64 bit, Win 10)